10306792_779675518709361_1414150908_n

Hello there! Please introduce yourself. Who are you and where are you from?

Hi! My name is James Fuhring and I go by the name Red Army and I am from Santa Cruz, California, but I currently reside in Sacramento, California USA.

How long have you been producing?

I have been producing now for 15 years.

Where did it all begin for you? What was the main influence on you in terms of drum’n’bass music? What were the very first tunes that stroke you most?

Well, back in 1997, I was in a band called Jenny Piccolo and we happened to be on tour in Europe and played a show in Berlin where the punk/hardcore bands played in one room and in the other room was The Panacea and Alec Empire. I wandered into the Drum & Bass room during The Panacea and was blown away at these high-speed distorted amens and bone shattering subs. I was instantly hooked. My main influences when I started were Jonny L, Paradox, Dillinja,Tech Itch, Dylan, Facs and Danny Breaks. The first tunes to really make me want to make Drum & Bass were the early Dylan and Facs releases on Droppin’ Science and Jonny L’s Magnetic LP, which to me is so far ahead of it’s time, I’m just now understanding it.
Are you working in any other styles, if yes, please specify?
I made a lot of 140bpm music in 2010 through 2012, but as of now, I only make Drum & Bass.
Do you have already any vinyl releases? Or are they just planned?

Yes! I was lucky enough to have releases back when vinyl was the only format. I released on Skunkrock, Argon, and Phuturo to name a few.
What is the most significant release of yourself? And why?

I would have to say is the Dybbuk Box EP on Onset Audio due to the fact that I finally was working with a sound I was 100% comfortable working in and I got and amazing remix from Homemade Weapons for it as well.

10323113_779675545376025_863708113_n

What are you working at right now?

Right now I am wrapping up a Refix EP for Onset Audio where I took a few tunes from previous releases and either retweaked them or remixed them entirely. I have a tune called Metastasis coming out on an EP called Senium on Turbine Music as well as a couple of EP’s that are in early progress that are too early in progress to really go into detail.
How do you like the idea of a collab working? Have you ever worked on tunes with any other producers?
I am a huge fan of collabs. They always bring out the best in all parties involved. I currently collab with 59crime, Clima and Homemade Weapons.
Are you using only digital or analog hardware as well? What musical software are you using at the moment?

I started out using all hardware but I currently just use Cubase.
Please, describe you sound? What’s special about it to capture listener’s attention?

Wow, that’s a hard one…I would have to say deep and somewhat emotional. I tend to write from the heart so my music usually wears it’s heart on it’s sleeve.

10299213_779675578709355_1966335205_n

What attracts you personally in the sound you’re working at?

I take positive and negative experiences in my life and put them to Drum & Bass.
Will you name 3 drum’n’bass producers who stand out for you at the moment?
Homemade Weapons, Clima, and all of the new Dom & Roland is amazing.
How long did it you to realize that you were ready to step out with your very first release?

After about a year of making tunes, I sent out a cd to a few labels and quickly regretted it, but two releases came of it. I am never really comfortable sending out my tunes, but I know it has to be done.
Your dream or wish – what’s the label you want to see your release on?

Metalheadz, no doubt! Out of all of the labels out there, I’ve been following them the longest and the most consistently.

 

10250198_788298284513751_8453605444077497169_n

Have you heard anything about the podcast «Vykhod Sily»? http://www.mixcloud.com/SpecialRequest/
How do you see the future of the half step sound in the drum’n’bass scene?

Yes! The Clima guys raved about it so I had to check it out! Drum & Bass is at a critical time right now where its regaining it’s popularity with old fans and new ones, where there is such a diverse amount of music being made and played publically. I see nothing but good things in the future for all styles of Drum & Bass.
What are positive and negative things have you observed in drum’n’bass music over the last couple of years?

It is a lot easier to fire up a label these days so the steep competition amongst labels can get ugly and unnecessary. The positive swing on that is that it brings the rest of us together and makes everyone involved a tighter bunch.
What will drum’n’bass be like in the nearest future, any ideas?

It’s really hard to say, but I think the lines are going to blur even more with juke/footwork and half time drum & bass.
What’s the most important thing for the beginning producer? Will you share an advice?

You have to be able to accept negative criticism or just criticism in general. You’re never going to appease to everyone and you have to let that go immediately.
And the final words here?

Thanks for having me on here! With the advancement of technology, we’re able to achieve global status from our own houses, cities, dwellings, wherever and no one ever seems too far away.
Thanks for the answers.
Keep it going and good luck with the new releases!

 

https://www.facebook.com/redarmyaudio

 

968023_779675515376028_1890429718_n