timreaper

Hello there! Please introduce yourself. Who are you and where are you from?

My name’s Ed, I’m from London/Essex & I produce jungle & drum and bass music as Tim Reaper.

How long have you been producing?

I’ve been producing for about 5 years now.

Where did it all begin for you? What was the main influence on you in terms of drum’n’bass music? What were the very first tunes that stroke you most?

I got into drum & bass through an Andy C mix CD that came with a copy of Mixmag that I had to buy for a Media Studies assignment but I didn’t find about jungle for about a year after that, where I found a fake DJ Hype profile on MySpace (remember that?) with Super Sharp Shooter & Dred Bass on the player. I didn’t know they were classified as jungle but I just knew that I liked those two tracks a lot more than any of the d&b I was listening to at the time.I found out eventually though & then started the long process of trawling through back catalogues of artists & labels on Discogs to find audio for on YouTube channels like martynwebster, djbazia, deepbass9, skunkassociation, ravegenerator8, mickeybeam75, ninokawasaki, 3sidedsquare, masteris, m0mper, those are the uploaders I remember off the top of my head.

Are you working in any other styles, if yes, please specify?

That would be telling. 

Do you have already any vinyl releases? Or are they just planned?

I’ve already had a few vinyl releases out in the span of my career but have some more on the horizon for Sci Wax Retro, Bustle Beats, Criterion, Repertoire & maybe Green Bay Wax based on the release schedule we’ve got planned for that.

What is the most significant release of yourself? And why?

I’d probably say my remix of Final Chapta by DJ Trace as it was my first ever vinyl release & it was on DSCI4, quite a big label, so it meant a lot to me at the time & it helped me get my name noticed by people who wouldn’t have known of me otherwise.

timrepeah-570x354

What are you working at right now?

Not much really, there was a point where for about 2 months in the summer last year, I was finishing what seemed like a new tune every day, but I soon got out of that when I found other things to do & now that I have a job, I don’t really feel like doing that much music.

How do you like the idea of a collab working? Have you ever worked on tunes with any other producers?

Collabs are always pretty interesting as it’s good to get a 2nd opinion on things whilst in the process of making a tune. Also, when I’m making a tune with a person next to me (like irl), it encourages me to be a bit more fast paced in what I do because I can’t really take time to thumb through a million samples when the other person right next to me just wants to press on with the making. Well, the most noteworthy example I have is probably my first ever collab. It was with a good friend of mine who produces as Relapse & he also used FL Studio, so I started a project & sent it to him. He looked at it and told me all the weird ways I was misusing Fruity Loops and all the strange things I was doing from self-teaching myself how to use it & it really sped up the learning process for me as I could have been retaining those bad habits for a longer time than I was if nobody had set me on the right path. I highly recommend collaboration because of the things you can pick up from other people being involved but don’t take on more collabs than you can manage, like I did at one point.

Are you using only digital or analog hardware as well? What musical software are you using at the moment?

I’ve always been just a producer with a really basic setup, usually just my laptop and whatever headphones/earphones I have to hand. I’ve enjoyed that because I don’t feel limited in what I have and it’s so little hassle to get anything started & finished because there’s no dependencies on any piece of kit. As much as it’s interesting to see what, for example, some of the other jungle producers in Green Bay Wax get up to with their oldskool hardware setups, I can’t see myself switching to that anytime soon, due to the way the workflow is.

How long did it take you to realize that you were ready to step out with your very first release?

It wasn’t really a moment of realization, I was pretty much willing to release my music from the get-go. I never really had fears or any type of feeling of not being ready to showcase my music because I quite liked seeing the response that people would give when I shared my music & that would give me enough of a buzz to want to continue on with things.

What will drum’n’bass be like in the nearest future, any ideas?

Besides the oldskool jungle sound that I’ve always been a fan of, I’m really liking the dark minimal drum & bass being made by artists like Clarity, Overlook, Ruffhouse, Gremlinz, Loxy, Paragon, Homemade Weapons etc. It feels like a continuation on from what already currently exists in drum & bass, like it’s the next step to go for the sound and with labels like Samurai, Narratives, 31, Exit & Cylon supporting this kind of style, I feel like it’s quite healthy atm & could go on to get more recognition both inside & outside of drum & bass. I’ve been doing a few tracks in this style at the same time as making amen jungle stuff and as much as it’s still early days for me in terms of how good I am at actually producing it, I’d like to say that I’d love to be putting out this kind of track alongside my usual style.

What’s the most important thing for the beginning producer? Will you share an advice?

Well firstly, putting the hours in is always a good tip. I’d come straight home from school and make stuff on FL Studio, working on whatever I could because I really wanted to get good at it & eventually, I got to a point where I was happy with the tunes I was making, which might have taken longer if I didn’t spend pretty much all of my free time on production. Also, networking is essential as when I was young, I would spend hours on the forums, chatrooms & AIM every day, talking to producers, DJs, label owners, promoters, fans and anyone I could really. It helped me to get myself noticed as people see your name and recognize that they saw your name from here or there and that gets them a bit more curious about what music you have to offer. On top of that, don’t limit yourself to within your ‘subgenre’, as I was sending jungle music to anyone in d&b, so like people associated with liquid, neuro, jump-up, minimal & any other type of style because you never know what people might like until you send it to them to know for sure. But don’t be as much of a pest as I was hah, try & find a nice middle point with a warm online presence. And the final words here? Erm, don’t use pitch retention/retainment/whatever the word is on your breaks, it rarely ever sounds good! Please add any relevant links representing you creative activity? Just my SoundCloud page, I got rid of all my social media stuff. http://soundcloud.com/tim-reaper

Listen up to Tim Reaper’s Guest mix on Thursday at 10 pm (UTC+5) at djstation.ru