stalker

01. Talk about your fascination with Science Fiction films, particularly Russian Sci-Fi; tell us a little bit about your history with Soviet Science Fiction films/literature..
Well, I have been interested in Sci-Fi genre since my childhood as I was reading lots of books depicting the Future, the new models of the human relationships, attempts to change the human’s nature and the consequences of it. Of course it all started for me personally with the Soviet writers like Strugatskie brothers. Their “Roadside Picnic” is still one my favourite Sci-Fi novels ever. Also Kir Bulychev’s books impressed me much at that time. I was pretty much excited about all those Future ideas, technology progress aspects, space explorations etc. Have to mention Sci-Fi as a genre was of a great popularity since early the 20th century in Russia and later in Soviet Union as it became a tool of propaganda describing of the success and the enormous progress in Soviet science and technology in that period. Unfortunately that happened often and surely had a negative impact. Some of the writers were directed by the communistic creative authorities instructing them how to depict the Soviet future brighter and optimistic but of course we were more interested in non-conformist writers who avoid that negative influence from above in terms of creative freedom. As for the movies, there were a few which struck me most in my younger days and which I still considering as ones to be rewatched:
– “The Renegade” (1987) by V.Rubinchik
– “Stalker” (1979) by A. Tarkovskiy
– “To The Stars Through The Hard Ways” (1980) by R.Viktorov
– “The Moon Rainbow” (1980) by A. Ermash
– “Test Pilota Pirxa” (1979) by M.Pestrak
-”Under the Gemini Constellation” (1979 ) by B. Ivchenko
– “The Pass/Pereval” (1988) by V.Tarasov

test-pilota-pirxa

02. Talk about the correlation between Autonomic genre and Science Fiction films/soundtracks, and how they served as early influences..
So Sci-Fi and especially the Soviet kind of that thing had an informative influence on my future musical preferences. As for the Sci-Fi music things related in the Soviet era, I would suggest exploring Eduard Artemiev’s electronic masterpieces and listening to Alexey Rybnikov’s OST’s. Those two were incredibly future-thinking composers dealing with analogue hardware. Their space ambient-wise synth-based soundscapes are something worth checking out for sure. In the course of time, as I was getting older, I explored the electronic dance music starting with 4×4 beats and in the mid 90’s slowly moving to the breakbeat-driven music. 1997 was the year when I found jungle/drum’n’bass. That was a new era to me in terms of musical likings. From the very beginning those sounds were unbelievably futuristic to my mind and I was immediately taken away by the innovative approach which precisely fit my way of thinking influenced by the Soviet Sci-Fi movies, books etc. That was the music of the Future or something of an extraterrestrial in origin which resonated that much inside of my mind. So in other words, Drum-n-Bass to me as a listener or a selector was, and still is, the most innovative and permanently mutated futuristic music which is still here after 3 decades of evolution. And this moment in my opinion is the key moment in defining the creative message which this music is still carrying on. Talking about the Autonomic movement sound and what we got after (e.g Heart Drive project) that is tightly connected to that entire Sci-Fi futuristic attitude as it sonically describing the scenes of the Future and corresponds to a degree to some of the Sci-Fi issues considered back then in books and movies which are still under discussion: the human nature, the artificial intelligence, technological paranoia, the fear of tomorrow etc.

kinopoisk.ru
03. What was your inspiration for the broadcast? Talk about your process here..
As I’m a great fan of retro futurism, analogue hardware sounds and all those things I’m trying to push through my Vykhod Sily Podcast I was much honored to take part in Source.Echo mix series with my own musical perception of that music which has been tagged as “Autonomic”. The greatest inspiration was the cutting-edge music which is being released on labels like Auxiliary, Narratives Music, Exit, Horo and many others to mention. That’s quite simple. The healthy state of this 85/170 BPM scene is keeping me following the many unique producers which are pushing it under the flag of futurism and stick to the Autonomic aesthetics.
As for the mix I was trying to make a bit special than usual in a way of creating a narrative with the help of Soviet science movies vocal excerpts underlining the scientific approach to the Future over the finely selected tunes. These excerpts are in Russian but you can find the translations of notes accompanying the mix. So have a nice cinematic journey into Sci-Fi inspired realms of contemporary Autonomic sound.

the-renagade

Source.Echo_ 07 contains spoken word excerpts taken from the following Soviet Science Fiction films and tutorials:
– Me And The Others (1971)
– Who’s Behind The Wall? (1977)
– An unknown educational movie with a school teacher talking…


@ 0:05
And are you aware of what a computer is? No? In the meantime
it’s being called the first tool in the history intensifying the human intellect
let’s say “the spectacles for one’s mind”
@ 0:47
I think it’s high time to test how strong the memory of each of you is,
to investigate its properties and to witness how far it tends to deviate from the norm.
@ 1:55
So let the experiment begin!
@ 6:06
– Will the artificial intellect be ever created? Which would be inferior to a human’s one
Please give a clear-cut answer? Yes or no?
– Of course yes, yes and I’m saying it again yes! It will probably happen before
the 21st century
@11:32
-With the help of such a game one can prove that the machine is not just
operating according to the given program but even able to reflect, to think
– Pardon, what do you mean by “to think”?
– It stands to reason…
– What exactly?
@ 19:31
-Well, let us start with the straight question. The left one and the right one.
I’m asking you to answer me honestly.Who is human among you both?
– I’m human
– Don’t trust him. I’m human.
– It’s ok for the beginning I guess.
@ 25:53
– Well, that’s right, but too slow with the answer, it’s an easy thing for the machine to do though
@ 26:25
-Will you fancy a sci-fi story plot?
– The scientific machines are discussing whether humans having an intellect or not.
– That one on the left is appealing to me definitely. Please, the right one answer me, will you?
– There is a panic all around in the city. Everything is mixed up. And nobody knows who a machine or a human is.
@ 36:33
– Ok now. Let the right one calculate in mind multiplying 67 by 39

@ 40:34
– I’m giving up! I’m a machine…I’m a machine…I’m a machine…
– What’s wrong with him? (asking a technical service man)
– Something is going wrong in Section 17 I guess
– Please check that up! Sorry for that, the technology fails…
@48:24
– Well, certainly, definitely, I reckon it will probably be of a great assistance to us in the process of learning.
Probably..But who knows may be it won’t, may be it’s too early now, may be we are not prepared for that…
@59:38
– May be our children will become all cold-hearted, growing up as not that kind of people as we want them to be
Absolutely not as we expected them to be. What if the machine will make them feeling like a machine. They all say
we are making friends with the computer, but what if they become computers themselves?

https://www.facebook.com/groups/AUTONOMIC.MINIMAL/